Eat Like The Locals: Delhi

There are two reasons why my recent trip to Delhi would go down as one of the best vacations I’ve ever had. The first one would be watching Roger Federer play his arch nemesis Rafael Nadal in the IPTL. And the second one would be sampling Delhi’s mouth watering food.

As soon as I booked my tickets I was flooded with recommendations from family and friends with the go to food places in the capital.

So here’s presenting a small list highlighting my gastronomical journey through the streets of Delhi.

1. If you are a shopaholic you should visit Dilli Haat. If you are a foodie then you shouldn’t miss it for the world. Diversity is the name of the game here as it is one place where you can sample authentic food from all states of our country. I enjoyed the Vegetarian Steamed Momos and Chowmein from the Shillong Stall. The momos were lusciously big and served with a spicy schezwan sauce. The noodles were full of crisp stir fired veggies and wonderfully spicy, one of the best I have eaten in my life.

IMG_20151210_144413

2. The most popular breakfast, lunch or dinner option in Delhi is Chhole-Bhature. Though found is every nook and corner of Delhi, my personal favourite was from Bhimsains in Bengali Market.The bhaturas were nothing like what I had tasted before, they were extremely soft and lined with paneer shreds- a perfect accompaniment for the delectably hot and spicy chick-peas curry.

IMG_20151210_144410

3. Another award winning option was the Dahi Bhalla from Haldiram’s at Connaught Place. Melt-in-the-mouth Bhallas dunked in cold and creamy yogurt topped with fresh green chutney, crunchy sev and corriander will take any chaat lover straight to food heaven.

4. Next on the list were Ram Ladoos. These are moong daal pakoras served hot with crunchy radish and tangy chutney. It is a must have specially during the winter season. I sampled these at the Street Food Festival organized by NASVI, but I was told that you get the best in Green Park.

IMG_20151213_122802

5. If all the delicious but greasy food has started making you look for some respite, Peas-Kulcha is your saviour. The feathery light and fluffy kulchas paired with a mild dry-peas curry is a match made in heaven. I liked the ones from a food stall at Haveli (Murthal) the best.

6. Paranthas at any of the joints in Paranthe Waali Gali, Chandni Chowk are a must have. These Indian breads dunked in butter are served alongside spicy curries and pickles. They are usually stuffed with a variety of fillings ranging from peas to papad. You can even opt for a rabri filling to satiate that impossible to please sweet tooth of yours.

IMG_20151210_144409

7. At the food festival I also tried Roller Kulfi. It is a unique ice-cream like dessert made by pouring fresh fruit juices and rabri on a strange contraption shaped like a roller. There aren’t any added artificial flavours, and you end up eating a unique dish, almost like a frozen fruit salad; which was truly delectable.

IMG_20151213_122011

Unfortunately I didn’t get a chance to enjoy the Chur Chur Naan outside Moolchand Metro Station, the Rajma Chawal of Shankar Market and Daulat Ki Chaat at Chandni Chowk which I’ll definitely try the next time I’m in the city.

Written by Pooja

Leave a comment