Eat Like The Locals: Hyderabad

The Nizam, Kohinoor, Biryani, and Char Minar are all synonymous to Hyderabad. This Nawabi Shehar which is known for its rich cultural history, biryanis, kebabs and biscuits offered a treat to all my senses.

My food journey within the southern state was quite satiating. It began in the holy mountains of Sri Sailam. My day started with some appams (a Kerala delicacy) for breakfast that the hawkers sold at every corner of the temple. For a healthy and filling breakfast, it was also a steal (6 appams for Rs. 10).They were soft and well steamed and the coconut chutney served alongside was the perfect accompaniment.

Next on my Hyderabad foodie list, I decided to check off Paradise; the famous biryani eatery. I visited the central branch located in Secunderabad. The place is very well lit and adorned with framed pictures of all the famous personalities who have visited the restaurant. The place is very spacious with regular sofa seating and is usually packed on weekends. It is known for its non-vegetarian dishes and biryanis. I ordered a Chicken Biryani. The rice was cooked in rich biryani masala consisting of cinnamon, cardamom, nutmeg, pepper and cloves. The saffron added a very distinct flavor to the meat and rice layers. The juicy well cooked chicken surely aroused my taste buds.

I also ordered a Paradise special called Apollo Fish (Rs. 358), which is their specialty. The murrel fish pieces were deep fried in a mixture of cornstarch and all-purpose flour. The fish unlike Basa which is most commonly used for appetizers had a distinct taste to it. If you are a fish lover and headed to paradise, this is a must have.

specialities-osmania

Next I had to satisfy my sweet tooth, and I had heard, no bakery beats the biscuits at the famous Karachi bakery. However Subhan Bakery, a small bakery in the buzzing street of Bazaar Peth contradicts this statement. Karachi has its own variety of bakery products to offer but if you are looking for Osmania Biscuits, head to Subhan. For Β the 5 minutes that I stood at Subhan it had sold 10 kilos of Osmania Biscuits. The name Osmania can be credited to Mir Osman Ali Khan, who wanted a snack that was a little sweet and a little salty. These biscuits are baked with very minimal amount of sugar and a tinge of salt. The biscuits melt in your mouth. A return gift I bought in bulk for my Bombaiya friends.

Hyderabad was the best host to me. From biryanis to biscuits everything was served with love. This city deserves a visit and if good times and good food are on your mind, you better book those tickets to Hyderabad now.


Pictures sourced from: http://www.hyderabadbiryanihouseca.com (Biryani) and http://www.subhanbakery.com (Osmania Biscuits)

Written by Chandni

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I am so glad I was among the lucky bombaiya friends who got to eat those delicious biscuits….πŸ‘πŸ˜πŸ‘‰πŸͺ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awww. Thank you πŸ™‚ :*

      Like

Leave a comment